Hapana Mari!

Hey guys,

So this last week was pretty stressful. Things are really tough in Zimbabwe. All of the ATM’s either aren’t accepting international visa’s, or they don’t have any money. Which is really tough because hardly anywhere can you just swipe your card. There was only one bank in all of Zimbabwe that had money. You could only withdraw $100 and they would charge you $10. So I guess now we have to be thrifty and wise with how we spend our mari (money). All week we’ve been getting complaints from missionaries all over Zimbabwe, and we’ve had to take some big steps in trying to solve the problem. Finally our decision was to distribute some money to missionaries through our Mission President as he drives to Bulawayo for Stake Conference. It’s been a really stressful week, but I think we finally managed to pull things through.
Like I’ve mentioned earlier we’re not teaching as much, but we still get some lessons in when we have the time. We have an investigator who’s going to be baptized next week! The only problem we had with her was the issue of prophets. She believed the Book of Mormon was true, but was unsure about Joseph Smith. All we could do was testify and get her to trust Moroni’s promise in the Book of Mormon. “And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost. And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.”If someone knows by the power of the Holy Ghost that the Book of Mormon is true, then everything else follows. By that same power, you will know that Joseph Smith was a prophet of God. The Holy Ghost works in many mysterious ways, and I don’t think I needed a miracle to know the this church is true. I only need the Holy Ghost’s comfort, and the confirming witness that what I am doing is His work.

Well enough testifying and scripture sure hooked her, she says that she is ready to be baptized and follow Jesus Christ to the end. One doctrine that I really love about this church is the assurance that after enough effort, because of Jesus Christ, grace can save us. If we had to be perfect to get into heaven no one would be there, but that’s not what God wants. God wants to be with us and our eternal families, but the only way that was going to be possible was through His son, Jesus Christ. “For God so loved the world that He gave us his only begotten son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.” There is no other name given other Heaven whereby man can be saved. He has satisfied the demands of justice with the law of mercy, and now all mankind are given the opportunity of eternal life. There is a saying that I love and that I use all of the time. “God doesn’t expect us to be perfect, only to be perfect in trying.” We have to keep striving for perfection and let God in, so that he can perfect us.

Wow I spoiled you with doctrine today. I have so many more scriptures, and I’ve kind of become an almanac. So if you have any questions I’ll give you scripture haha.
Setting aside the spiritual things for a moment, I have some funny experiences maybe that I can share. There are A LOT of street vendors here, and the funny thing is, it’s illegal. People can be desperate enough for money they’ll even steal what you have. Elder Shepherd last week bought some sunglasses, but he doesn’t like them. He went to the same guy and wanted to trade for new ones, the guy then accepted, but went back and wanted more money. We then declined and wanted our sunglasses back and he ran away haha. It was hilarious. We followed him in our car and I got out of the car to stop him. After realizing that running was futile he just gave the sunglasses back. No anger or rage, just kind of fun haha.
Being around the office, I get to hear all of the funny things that missionaries are doing. Sometimes people just don’t think. I’ve had many people come to me with simple problems, and when I solve them they laugh and say “and that’s why you’re the assistant and I’m down here.” I don’t really think of myself as above anyone else, I’m just a simple servant, trying to get the work moving forward.
I love the work and I cherish being here every day.
Have a good week.
Much love,
Elder Robison.
Sorry no pictures 😦 Next week!
Leave a Reply

