Ndinoda Chikafu‏

Hey guys,

Do you like my recent additions to applying Shona in my emails? Ninoda Chikafu means “I love food.” That’s right this week was special. I know dad would be really jealous because to tell you the truth, I didn’t even feel like I was in Zimbabwe last week. The Peterson’s and even President were really sweet to us. We got free lunch almost every day, and even last night the Peterson’s took us to St. Elmo’s for dinner. The highlight of all these places was a restaurant called Victoria 22. President took us all there for Elder Shepherd’s birthday. MAN the food was good. I was in priesthood attire and still felt under dressed to be there. I had a big juicy steak! The first one I’ve had since I left home. So I guess you could say there are a few perks working around the office. No money crisis for me haha, I think I’m okay if it comes to food in my stomach.

Last week I had my first Leadership Council training as an Assistant. I conducted the meeting and gave some training. Not a lot was talked about, most of the training was done by President. I was just kind of there to conduct the meeting and comfort President. It was funny how I was standing in a room full of missionaries who have been doing these things for a long time and there I was, standing in the middle of them telling them how to do missionary work. I mean, all of them know how to do missionary work, I’m just there to lend a hand and help out on points where missionaries aren’t performing well. One of our zones had a record high of 51 baptisms last month! Right here in Harare, they were on fire! One of President’s main concerns is how small this mission is going to get. When I got here we started with about 140, and in about 2 weeks it’s going to drop to about 100, then like 90. After that is when big groups start coming in, like Elder Gunther’s. President is worried that we will start losing focus and making excuses for having fewer missionaries. So he’s really going for a spiritual approach. He wants us to be worthy of the spirit so that we can listen to it’s promptings and baptize SOLID converts to the church. In order to do that we have to be obedient to God’s commandments and his rules. We’ve really seen miracles and examples of faith in these last few weeks as we’ve seen areas regarded as “dead”, really come alive and baptize many converts. I He’s trying to show us that with faith anything is possible. In the scriptures it stopped time. The brother of Jared moved mount Zerin for crying out loud. If faith can do that, then why are we different? This is his work isn’t it? If we can attain that level of faith, then miracles will follow.

One day when I was reading my scriptures, I found something that I wrote in 2 Nephi 9. It said “Humble yourself.” I was really curious as to why I would add such a notation. So I read it and it talks about pride. Verses 28 and 29 say…

28 O that cunning plan of the evil one! O the vainness, and the frailties, and the foolishness of men! When they are learned they think they are wise, and they hearken not unto the counsel of God, for they set it aside, supposing they know of themselves, wherefore, their wisdom is foolishness and it profiteth them not. And they shall perish.

29 But to be learned is good if they hearken unto the counsels of God.

This scripture reminds me of some investigators that I’ve had in the past. People who think they know everything and refuse to pray to know the truth because they “already have the truth.” What this scripture really talks about is what it means to really obtain knowledge and what we should do with that knowledge. So when I pointed this scripture towards me, I thought to myself “do I need to know anything outside of what I’ve been given?” What I mean by that is what people call, deep doctrine. I love it and I learn a lot from it, but it profits me nothing if I don’t hearken to the counsels of God, and listen to the spirit. Learning is GOOD, but you need to stay humble. I think that’s why I added that on the side of my scriptures. No matter how much we think we know, we need to stay humble and pray for answers, and not counsel God, but counsel with Him.
It was an interesting week of course, but I’m sure summer over there is more fun. Keep having fun, but never forget to read your scriptures!
Much love,
Elder Robison. IMG_1917.JPG
Leave a Reply

