Stressful Week

Hey guys,

So as stated above, this week has been tremendously stressful. It was transfer week and there was lots to be done. 16 missionaries were going home and they were all Zimbabwean. Normally how it goes is their stake president’s will come to the office to get released here or we drop them off of some stake centers and they get released there. Well some stubborn stake president’s later, and we had to drop nearly every one off at their chapels even after being released! Once they’re released we’re not even supposed to take them home but we had to anyways. We added almost 400km to the van haha. Serious road trip in that thing, I was so tired of driving. After all of that was said and done we had to go pick up the new missionaries at the airport and take them to the office for some training. The training went well and even I learned some things. The next morning we had to get up at 4:30. Someone from Bindura had to come to the office to get set apart as a missionary to go to the MTC in Johannesburg. We had to drive him to the airport at 4:30 in the morning! We never get a break around here haha. Well President will tell you that he’s never heard me complain, I just keep my head up and do as I’m asked.
If I haven’t told you about him already, we’re teaching a guy named Ken Thomas. A white guy living in Zimbabwe with his wife. He’s someone we’ve been teaching not for a long time and he just loves the gospel! He gets so excited when we’re over. Before we even met him he had already read the entire Book of Mormon and told us that he NEEDS to be baptized and sealed in the temple with his wife for all time and eternity. So he promised to come to church tomorrow and I couldn’t be more excited! My companion and I have been really bummed out in the office and have been craving more teaching, but we just love teaching this man! We taught him the Plan of Salvation yesterday and he couldn’t have been more prepared to receive what we were teaching him. It’s amazing how the Lord really does prepare the hearts those who are ready to receive the restored gospel. In Alma 16, Alma and Amulek found similar success in their ministries, and their reasons were the same…

“15 And thus did Alma and Amulek go forth, and also many more who had been chosen for the work, to preach the word throughout all the land. And the establishment of the church became general throughout the land, in all the region round about, among all the people of the Nephites.

16 And there was no inequality among them; the Lord did pour out his Spirit on all the face of the land to prepare the minds of the children of men, or to prepare their hearts to receive the word which should be taught among them at the time of his coming—”

All this takes is a little bit of faith and we’re promised that all things are possible.
By the way the package came! Thanks so much for the love, and yes the pants fit great! Also I’m seriously enjoying those sour patch watermelons, all of the Americans here seem to have forgotten that they exist and were so jealous when they saw them. Missed guitar strings 😦 but I’ll try harder to find a place with those exact same strings.
One funny skill that I think I’ve developed is the skill of talking with the police haha. You’ll just be pulled over for funny things like running yellow lights right in-between the intersection. I like to have a little bit of fun with them and say ahh Pakaipa! (life is hard). They just say twenty bucks and I say handisi murungu! (I’m not a white guy). Handina Mari! (I have no money) They always laugh and then I sneak in $5 dollars and they put it in their pocket. They forget all about checking for my license and giving me a ticket haha. Bribing cops in Zimbabwe… Not a bad idea! I’ve actually learned to have fun with it.
I’m still having fun although at times it’s a little stressful. I just gotta keep moving forward!
Much love,
Elder Robison.
Leave a Reply

