Dawn baptism, new companion, transfers, and more!

Hey guys,

I have too much to explain, and unfortunately, too little time. So on Tuesday of last week my dearly beloved companion, Elder Gundani, went home. He was so excited. After 25 of months of serving the Lord, and 9 of those being spent in the office, he was finally ready to go home. His home is Kwekwe. Our days of enjoying basketball together will be missed, but new adventures lie ahead of me. My new companion is going to be Elder Mtetwa. Finally no more three-companionship. I will be the acting Flats/AP and Elder Mtetwa will be the acting Fleets/AP. It’s going to be kind of empty in this office, but with such a short supply of missionaries, I don’t blame President for making it this way. It’s a lot of work, but I’m still as optimistic as ever. I’ve actually know Elder Mtetwa for a long time. We lived in the same house when I was working in Dammo Falls. He’s a really good missionary, and a very hard worker. To top it all off, do you know what makes him even better? He’s as tall as me! We’re the two tallest missionaries in the mission, and I think we’re set to do a lot of intimidating haha. Of course that’s not what we really want, but already I can see the people are more afraid to approach me than Elder Gundani.
Last Sunday the baptism for Dawn Thomas was a success! Tomorrow is her confirmation!  It was such a brutal task to get that font to the right temperature. We were struggling, trying to boil water in big buckets and then to our rescue comes brother Thompson. He’s the first counselor in the bishopric. He brought from his home about 200L of boiling hot water. It was enough to fill the tank just enough, and then the baptism commenced. Bishop Machakaire was to perform the baptism. Dawn is so disabled, she wasn’t even able to walk down the steps in to the font. Our bishop had to carry her in to the water. I can just remember the look of terror on her face as she entered her feet in to the water. Our bishop and her family calmed her down and then we had to make her sit. The water was pretty low and she couldn’t kneel so she had to sit. Then voila! She was baptized! Tears filled her husbands eyes when he bore testimony at the end of the service. He can’t wait to be baptized.
So this is the last week of the transfer and I just sent the new transfer sheet to the Zone Leaders. I think I mentioned this at the end of the last transfer, but being on the giving instead of the receiving end of transfer news isn’t as exciting. No more biting fingernails and crossing your fingers that you go or stay, I already know mine haha.
This last week we didn’t do a lot of teaching, but there was one lesson that I loved. A new family came to church last week (all 5 of them) and they loved it! Bishop Machakaire then picked us up on Thursday and we went and taught the restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ together. That family is just so humble. They are the perfect example of what it means to be teachable. In 3 Nephi 9:22 it says…
22 Therefore, whoso repenteth and cometh unto me as a little child, him will I receive, for of such is the kingdom of God. Behold, for such I have laid down my life, and have taken it up again; therefore repent, and come unto me ye ends of the earth, and be saved.
If eternal life is what we desire, then we must take after the example of children. We need to humble ourselves as little children, and submit ourselves to whatever He tells us to do.
Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of MOTAB. I got kind of sick of it a few months ago and switched to EFY music, but MOTAB is super nice. I can really feel the spirit throughout the day. It gives me strength to endure and to keep on going.
Sorry this email is short. I’m working on some logistics for missionaries. It wasn’t really much of a Pday for me. GET THIS I got my camera but now someone stole my card reader haha, I’ll buy a new one tonight and send you some pictures tomorrow after church.  

Elder Robison

Leave a Reply

