Just another week…

Hey guys,

So last week not much happened, but I’ll share with you something that DID happen. So we’re still visiting and teaching the Thomas’ and last week we brought Brother Jack with us. He was so excited to go with us and I’m glad we brought him too, because some of the things he said opened my mind to newer solutions to Brother Thomas’ addiction to smoking. We went in initially to teach Sister Thomas more about the Holy Ghost. When we got there He started explaining his struggles again with his smoking, and we’ve been trying so hard to help him. Normally my brain kicks in to “the atonement”, but when I let Brother Jack speak something else came to my mind. He mentioned studying the scriptures and finding strength in others testimonies that are written in the Book of Mormon. My thoughts immediately turned to Alma 48:17 that talks about Moroni. Before I even said anything, Brother Thomas just stared going on and on about how he just loves Moroni! He’s read the Book of Mormon before, and he could just go on and on about Moroni, he really looks up to him. Then I turned to that scripture and it says
“Yea, verily, verily I say unto you, if all men had been,and were, and ever would be, like unto Moroni, behold,the very powers of hell would have been shaken forever;yea, the devil would never have power over the hearts of the children of men.”
After I had him read that verse his eyes started tearing and his heart was just swollen with joy. He wants so badly to be like Moroni. He doesn’t want the devil to have any power over him anymore. I told him to write the verse down so that he could be reminded of Moroni every time he feels tempted. Brother Jack was also generous enough to lend Brother Thomas a picture of a temple, so that he could be reminded of what his goal is, which is to be sealed to his wife for all time and eternity.
That’s about the only spiritual experience I had all week. I was too busy with housing and other things to teach any other lessons. I’ve had to search for 2 new houses for missionaries to stay in, and also keep an eye on some renovations that I authorized. I feel like doing all of these housing things is really helping me for the future. I’m now grasping the concept of leasing a house, pricing and all that stuff.
Sometimes people really don’t see or appreciate the work I do haha. I think people still have the mentality that we just sit at the office and do nothing. The opposite is true! Although sometimes I feel like what I’m doing isn’t really missionary work, I try not to put myself down. What I’m doing is equally important in moving along the work of the Lord.
Yesterday I saw a white family walk in to the office called the Nields. They just took pictures of me and said “give me your mom’s phone number so I can call her and let her know that I saw you!” They also said that they know Alpine very well and would be more than happy for me to give them a package to send to you. They travel back and forth quite frequently also, so they said you could give them a package as well for them to send back to me. It’s a small world when you’re in the church. and these people love missionaries too much so they would do anything for me haha.
That’s about it, I hope all is well. School starts soon!
“SCHOOL TIME, SCHOOL TIME, DIRTY ROTTEN RULE TIME!”
~Dad
Hahahaha
Elder Robison.

Zimbabwe Harare Mission
65 Enterprise Rd
Zimbabwe, Harare
P-days are awful.

 

Leave a Reply

