Discipline

Hey guys,
This week surprisingly was actually full of adventure. It all started with a certain Elder (I won’t tell you the name) who wasn’t doing so hot. He was sent to train in this first transfer but something really bad happened. He was emergency transferred to be with I and Elder Mtetwa since Tuesday. He wasn’t really sure what was going to happen to him, but he knew that it was serious. On Thursday he even came with us all the way to Mutare to drop off a car for some missionaries. On our way there he wanted to listen to music that wasn’t very appropriate, but I was very proud of myself and held firm in my decision to listen to EFY the whole 3 hours there haha. He didn’t like it very much, but it was the right thing to do. We left to Mutare kind of late so as soon as we got there we just dropped off the car and left. We had an appointment at 7:00 so we had to you know, get back a little quicker than normal. I think I got back in just over 2 hours haha. I’m obedient! I promise, but you gotta do what you gotta do. The worth of a soul is great in the sight of God right? So we had to get back quick so we could teach a lesson. That’s dedication!
The next day (Friday) started like any other day with the three of us, but upon our return to the office we made a discovery. On Sister Peterson’s desk there’s a basket that normally has flight itineraries for certain people and Elder Chlarson so it and almost started to cry. President hadn’t explained to him yet that he was being sent home, he discovered it by seeing his name and flight details to leave Zimbabwe that afternoon.
The reason I titled this email discipline is this; it all begins with a scripture that comes to my mind… “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:11. When we came on our missions we promised the Lord to serve with all of our “Might, mind, and strength” “Never looking back”. D&C 11:20, Luke 9:62. We are expected to honor this promise so that we can be successful in all aspects of missionary work. No one said missionary work is easy, and sometimes the expectations can seem high, but we’re the Lord’s servants and we are on his errand. There is no task, big or small, that we are not promised that we can accomplish according to our faith. As missionaries we are promised health, strength, wisdom, and protection, but to qualify for these blessings we must obey. “I, the Lord, am bound when ye do what I say; but when ye do not what I say, ye have no promise.” D&C 82:10. Elder Chlarson has a little bit of… growing up to do. President Mkhabela told him to learn discipline, then he can come back.
One last thing that happened this week was another visit with brother Thomas. He’s still struggling with smoking, and things are only getting worse. He’s getting more stressed at work, and his wife’s health is declining. He has been screaming from his heart “Why God are you doing this to me?” Sometimes Satan can do that to us. He knows where we are going and what we are striving for and he puts us down again and again. After we talked for a little bit he said he had found new strength. I told him to read about Captain Moroni again (his favorite). The lesson was really good, and he really wants to improve so badly, even with everything that is happening to him. After the closing prayer this scripture came to my mind. In D&C 121 this is where the young prophet Joseph Smith was thrown in to Liberty Jail. He was crying to God, in supplication for the Saints. He was asking “Oh God, where art thou?” the scripture that came to my mind was the response “My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment; And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes.” After remembering that scripture I got a little bit teary and really prayed hard for him that night for greater strength against his temptation of smoking. Please remember him in your prayers. He really is trying so hard to become a member of the church and change. He wants to be on God’s side, and fight for righteousness. I love him with all my heart and it is my prayer that at the day of judgement he can be found favorable in the sight of God.
That’s everything this week, I’m really glad to see everyone is doing okay. I love hearing about missionary experiences of your own. YUP next week I turn a year. That’s like the first of these great milestones that I’ll be hitting. Only have to miss one more Christmas, thanksgiving, birthday… Then I’m home.

Much love,
Elder Robison.
Zimbabwe Harare Mission
65 Enterprise Rd
Zimbabwe, Harare
THREE pictures this time. One with Elder Gunther… sweet kid. Did you also know that in our mission there’s an Elder Elder??? Also did you know that I live right next to the statehouse? I really shouldn’t be taking pictures like this buuuut I couldn’t resist!

Leave a Reply

