Hump day!!!

Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike… Guess what day it is??? HUMP DAAAAYYYY!!!!

Hey guys,
Yup, it’s official. Today is hump day. I honestly never thought that I would get this far, but here I am. 1 year later and still got another to go. People say the second year goes by faster, buuuut it’s sill a year so don’t get too excited, I’m not home yet haha. I’ve still got some work to do.
So this week was zone conference week! boo… I mean YAY! Well I kind of have mixed feelings about zone conference because the training is always really good, but guess who has to prepare all of it and make sure everything runs smoothly. Yeah, and we actually had to have 3 zone conferences due to the new sizes of the zones. We have 7 zones and 3 conferences. 2 in Harare, and 1 in Gweru. We actually drove to Gweru the night before so we could set up for everything. It was actually really strange because I was assigned to give a presentation and I had to give it all 3 times. It was just repetition. While all of this was happening some people were being ET’d all over the place so it was kind of hectic.
At the zone conference I was asked to look over our “Goals and current status” of the mission. Right now we’re at about 1210 baptisms, that’s 790 short of our goal of 2000 in the year. I was asked to review the numbers and see where we could improve as a mission. I decided to talk a little bit about goal setting. I defined a goals as this; a goal is an achievement without a guarantee of success. When you send your goals that you plan to baptize 2 people in the month because you already know people who are going to be baptized, then by my definition that is not a goal. A goals purpose is to help you stretch. Maybe you won’t achieve it, but you’re going to work that much harder and it will bring you more success and effectiveness as a missionary. When you send a goal you know you’re going to achieve that means that you’re not showing your faith. You don’t trust that the Lord will prepare souls for you to find and investigators for you to teach. To end my speaking I read a scripture from Mormon 9: 19-21 it says…

19 And if there were miracles wrought then, why has God ceased to be a God of miracles and yet be an unchangeable Being? And behold, I say unto you he changeth not; if so he would cease to be God; and he ceaseth not to be God,and is a God of miracles.

20 And the reason why he ceaseth to do miracles amongthe children of men is because that they dwindle inunbelief, and depart from the right way, and know not theGod in whom they should trust.

21 Behold, I say unto you that whoso believeth in Christ,doubting nothing, whatsoever he shall ask the Father in the name of Christ it shall be granted him; and this promise is unto all, even unto the ends of the earth.

I love this scripture with all of my heart. If we show our faith by setting higher goals, the Lord will help us reach them. It doesn’t mean that the Lord will do everything though. Faith is a principle of action. We still gotta go out there and give it our all. I have faith that we can still reach 2000, President does too. I love the direction and guidance that President brings, he truly is an inspired man. Elder Merrell before he left used to call him ” Mukuru anofamba la Jesu”. I have no idea if that’s spelled right but it means “the man who walks with Jesus”. Yeah we get a good kick out of that.
At Zone conference in Gweru it was the Bulawayo, Gweru, and Kwekwe zones. I got to see Elder Gunther, and Elder Huffaker. Something funny happened actually, during zone conferences we had some role plays and I was set to teach with Elder Huffaker.. A lot of young guys were at that conference so it’s kind of cool being seen as one of the “old guys” or “veterans on mission”.
It’s all downhill from here! I’ve got the wind on my back, and a lot more work to do!
Much love,
Elder Robison

Zimbabwe Harare Mission
65 Enterprise Rd
Zimbabwe, Harare
BTW Sister Peterson got me some honey roasted peanuts!!! Yay!!! Also everyone was practicing their African head balancing at Zone Conference. The group that you see is the Gweru zone conference. If you look closely you might see some familiar faces:)

Leave a Reply

