Start of Year 2‏

Hey guys,

So like I said in my last email, I’ve now begun my descent! I hope you enjoy the gifts that I sent! They were just some things that I’ve picked up here and there on my travels. Yes I love Sister Nield. She really is a professional golf coach, and she goes to my ward here in Highlands. The first time I met her was actually when my entire zone was invited to go golfing for free at her golf course. When we met I told her that I was from Alpine and she was like “I know exactly where that is! I’m there all of the time!” Yeah she’s really sweet.
As for my week it was pretty regular. We didn’t get a lot of teaching appointments in, but we were able to go see some more members and listen to the rest of conference. I didn’t fall asleep this time! Aren’t ya proud of me? Every single session I was awake and alert. What was your favorite talk? Mine was the one given by President Uchtdorf about “finding your own Amulek”. His examples really opened my mind and made me look at those scriptures at another point of view. When I came here my previous companion liked to do a lot of things by himself, he didn’t really want any help. When I received my new companion, we lifted each others burdens as well as getting better at delegation. We all need our own Amuleks in life, the come in many different shapes and forms and they’re all there to help.
Last week we were teaching a recent convert, just as every regular visit we had some chit chat then we started with a prayer. I felt very prompted to just teach simply about the Book of Mormon, and the power that it brings in to our lives. I testified of it’s truthfulness as I read from it’s pages and bore witness of an apostasy that occurred for the need of this book. The whole lesson she was looking kind of bored and by the end she was like “I already know that stuff! Teach me some new stuff!” “Well, there isn’t much more for me to testify and teach about other than the Savior and the Book of Mormon which testifies him” I said. Sometimes when we go to conference we look forward to new topics or even more revelations concerning the doctrines and the commandments that we have. We expect new light to shed on different scriptures, but is that really necessary? Sometimes conference is repetitive, but that’s a good thing! It’s what we need to hear isn’t it. Sometimes we aren’t satisfied with what we have, but we haven’t even given it much study or thought. We esteem it as naught because we lack true understanding. The Prophet Nephi once said…
Wherefore, hearken, O my people, which are of the house of Israel, and give ear unto my words; for because the words of Isaiah are not plain unto you, nevertheless they are plain unto all those that are filled with the spirit of prophecy. But I give unto you a prophecy, according to the spirit which is in me; wherefore I shall prophesy according to the plainness which hath been with me from the time that I came out from Jerusalem with my father; for behold, my soul delighteth in plainnessunto my people, that they may learn.
Just like Nephi, my soul also delights in plainness. I don’t need to indulge myself in to things that I do not understand, or things that don’t even matter.
The Prophet Jacob warned us against what’s called “Looking beyond the mark”. If we’re not careful we’ll fall in to that same trap.
 But behold, the Jews were a stiffnecked people; and they despised the words of plainness, and killed the prophets, and sought for things that they could not understand. Wherefore, because of their blindness, which blindness came by looking beyond the mark, they must needs fall; for God hath taken away his plainness from them, and delivered unto them many things which they cannot understand, because they desired it. And because they desired it God hath done it, that they may stumble.
Sorry I just shared a lot of scriptures this time, nothing that interesting really happened. I’m glad every one is okay and I hope you enjoy the rest of the week!
Elder Robison

Zimbabwe Harare Mission
65 Enterprise Rd
Zimbabwe, Harare
These are what you call Jacaranda tree’s. They only bloom during this time of the year, that purple really is pretty.

Leave a Reply

