Harare Huchi!‏

Hey guys,

Well it’s been a little bit of a crazy week for sure. Hence why i’m writing to you at around 8:30 at night. The reason I’m writing to you so late is because we are coming straight from a trip to Kadoma. We went for a few business items to take care and also to play some soccer! My companion was way excited when he heard there was going to be a soccer match in Kadoma. He used to serve there so he got to see all of those members again. When we got there it started too late so we took care of a few other things then just left.
When we got back we headed straight to the Nyamhuri’s for dinner! Recognize the name? Elder Nyamhuri? My companion? Yup, he invited us for dinner and it was sweet! Such a good family, all are very strong and active in the church. Brother Nyamhuri actually has a calling in the stake now, it’s crazy. His house is pretty close to the mission office so it’s pretty cool to see him sometimes.
I’m just enjoying my last few moments with my companion Elder Mtetwa before he leaves his mission to start his next one. He goes home on the 25th of this month. It was quite a drive so we just spent the entire time talking. It’s kind of strange to think about it, but my companion is actually 6 years older than me. How I’m relating with him, I have no idea. I’m super young in this mission so sometimes I feel like the goofball haha. That’s slowly settled though when I just stand there, I think I inherited the “Wade Robison” glare. People just take me for a man of business and seriousness, they have no idea haha.
Well things just keep getting tougher and tougher here in ZImbabwe. The office is desperately in need of cash and the bank just isn’t giving it to us. Our finance manager, Elder Peterson, and a Bank of America executive had a conference call last week with this bank that we’re working with in Zimbabwe. We tried to explain to them why we need the money, but the outcome of that conference from the sound of things didn’t go very well. What’s happening (apparently) is the government is sucking in all of the US$ so that when the new bond notes come out people will be forced to accept them. The lines at the banks start at 6am and they stretch a mile long. These people just endure so much, it makes me feel so sad. I don’t know how someone could ever find peace in such a world wiith conditions such as these. Then… I remembered one of my all time favorite scriptures. In John 16:33 it says… “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world’. Isn’t that just a beautiful scripture or what? To find true peace in this world is only possible when you look to the Savior. His grace IS sufficient, and His love and mercy is endless. He knows what we’re going through, “but be of good cheer” He has overcome the world.
Another interesting thing that happened this week is a man who lived in this neighborhood made a visit to the office. He received a notice that there’s going to be a “temple” built on this street. He was just curious and also excited that something so beautiful is going to be next to his home. He says he can’t wait to see it and would want to learn more.
So the temple is coming, soon. Ground breaking is in January! I know that my redeemer lives and his bowls of mercy are extended to all ends of the earth. It is our sacred duty and privilege to at the helm such a marvelous work. I’m loving the work, and still pressing forward everyday.
Much Love,

Elder Robison

Zimbabwe Harare Mission
65 Enterprise Rd
Zimbabwe, Harare
PS I left my camera in these Elders car by accident for a few days so they thought they would mock me by taking a similar picture haha. JOKERS!

Leave a Reply

