“I’m on the Road Again”

Hey guys,

Wow what a week! It started just like any other week, but it ended very suddenly and in an unanticipated way. On Wednesday one of the Elders who had visa issues finally arrived in Zimbabwe! But guess what? His flight was delayed to 2 O’clock in the morning! Yay! He was supposed to come around 9:30 but when we got there it turned out it had been delayed. President was ready to greet him at the airport and everything. When we found out that it was delayed he just looked at us, then smiled and said “This is why I have assistants!” Yeah he loved using us I guess. So we slept for a few hours in the truck awaiting his arrival. We were thanked for our efforts with a very delicious breakfast at President’s house as kind of a “Welcome to Zimbabwe” kind of thing for the new missionary. After that we took him straight to Marondera (about an hour away).
That all happened Wednesday Evening and Thursday Morning. Just when we thought all was done we received news that another Elder was coming on Friday! Another visa waiter! And you’ll never guess where he’ll be serving, Masvingo! Yup we actually took him all the way down there today! We got up at 5 in the morning so that we could get an early start so it wouldn’t take up our whole pday. When we got there it was good to reminisce about the good old days. We didn’t have to have the Elders meet us in town to show us where they stayed, I told my companion “I got this”. It was actually exactly a year ago the last time I was there, it’s still just as hot as I left it. Man it is blazing.
Actually Friday was a very eventful day. It was around 4:00 and we had to go purchase some mattresses in town and drop them off in Mbare before we went to pick up the new missionary at the airport at 5:30, sounds easy right? Wrong, we get a call from the Zone Leaders telling us that their car broke down on the way to the office so we had to push it for half a mile… I was watching! I had to coast behind them with our truck so I didn’t get much action, in the picture all you’ll see is my companion’s behind haha.
Before Elder Mtetwa left, he wrote some few small thins in my journal that really touched me. We had both acknowledged that we had been leaders in the field for a long time now, and it’s easy to get tired. He turned me to a very rallying scripture found in 2 Timothy 4:7. It says… “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:” He told me to look to Paul as an example as I try to set an example for the mission and not get “tired”. And he also reminded me of course to always look towards the Savior who is our Master, whether for guidance or for strength.
Always looking forward, and of course still looking forward to finishing more milestones.
KEEP THE FAITH!!!
Much love,

Elder Robison

Leave a Reply

