Thanksgiving all the way in ‘babwe

Hey guys,

Yes it’s Thanksgiving in Zimbabwe, sorta. No one here really celebrates it, but to make us feel good some members whipped up something for us! Yes one of the members here in Highlands just got so excited to do something for us, she was preparing all week! Unfortunately she couldn’t find a turkey, but we ate potatoes, corn, rolls, stuffing, gravy, even pumpkin pie! Wow that was so special. She’s like “I just typed in what you eat at Thanksgiving on Google!” haha she did her best. Definitely something to be remembered. It was a little piece of America in Zimbabwe. After the feast as tradition we all said what we are grateful for. When the turn was passed to me, I looked around the room just thinking of things I’m grateful for. Then it just hit me, I said “I’m grateful for my Heavenly Fathers love for all of us, I’ve been given so many blessings that I don’t deserve. I’m grateful for His Son Jesus Christ, and am especially grateful to be a part of such a marvelous work.” Yessss no more missing thanksgiving!!! Scratch that off of the list!!!  Yeah it’s definitely one of my favorites. It’s hard because the Holiday really is all about family, and I’m so far away.
Anyways while all of that was going on a few other things took place this week. A couple of car wrecks from missionaries and more road trips. Actually yesterday I drove President to Marondera to take care of a few things. The reason he asked me to drive is because he had other things to take care of while I would be driving. I always feel weird when I drive him around because I feel like if I go to slow nothing will be done, but if I go too fast then he’ll tell me to slow down. Well as you know the roads here are very narrow and if you want to get any where in a hurry you have to do some overtaking. As we were sitting behind what I thought were an eternity of semi trucks I glanced down the road, looked at President, then gave it a shot. I won’t tell you what happened next haha but we made it to Marondera okay!
Lately I’ve been studying this whole “LIGHTtheWORLD” initiative. It’s got some really great things for us to take part in during this festive season. President actually wants us to go through it as a mission and Light Zimbabwe with the Saviors light. It’s easier as a missionary, but sometimes we forget that just being a member of this church means that your light shines as well, and just as Jesus Christ says “Yea are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid.” So this Christmas season don’t forget to let your light shine too, and you’ll always find that same joy and satisfaction that comes with serving others, as He served others.
Enjoy your week!
Elder Robison

Leave a Reply

